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GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
OFFICE OF TAX AND REVENUE
1101 4th Street, SW

Washington, DC 20024

GENERAL INFORMATION FOR BUSINESSES — Sales and Use Taxes

Part I — Sales Tax

A. Registration: Before making taxable sales in the
District of Columbia (the “District”) you must file a
Combined Business Tax Registration Application (Form
FR-500) with the Office of Tax and Revenue (OTR). There
is no charge for registering. (See item I. for information on
sales by street vendors.) You may obtain the FR-500 from
our website: www.taxpayerservicecenter.com or you may
call 202-442-6546. The form is also available at the OTR
Customer Service Center, 1101 4th Street, SW, 2nd floor.

Mail, fax or file on-line the completed Form FR-500
to the Office of Tax and Revenue, Customer Service
Administration, PO Box 470, Washington, DC 20044-
0470 or deliver it to the Customer Service Center, 1101
4th Street, SW, 2nd floor, Open Monday — Friday from
8:15 A.M. to 4:30 PM.

NOTE: Special Event promoters must file Form FR-500B,
Special Event Registration Application, with the OTR.

B. Certificate of Registration: List on the FR-500 all loca-
tions in the District from which you will be making taxable
sales. The OTR will issue a Certificate of Registration for
each location listed. Each location must display its own
Certificate of Registration.

If you make taxable sales without a Certificate of
Registration you may be fined up to $50 for each day you
do business in the District without a certificate.

C. Forms: The OTR will mail Sales and Use Tax Return
Forms (FR-800 series) to each taxpayer who files a Form
FR-500.

D. Returns and Payments: If your sales and use tax lia-
bility is less than or equal to $200 per period, you must file
an annual return, FR-800A. The annual sales and use tax
return (FR-800A) is due by January 20th of the subsequent
year. If your sales and use tax liability is greater than or
equal to $201 but less than or equal to $1200 per period,
you must file a quarterly return, FR-800Q. The quarterly
sales and use tax return (FR-800Q) is due by the 20th of
the month after the quarter being reported. If your sales
and use tax liability is greater than or equal to $1201 per
period, you must file a monthly return FR-800M. The
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monthly sales and use tax return (FR-800M) is due by the
20th day of each calendar month.

If you do not expect to incur a sales tax liability as defined
above, contact Customer Service Center at (202) 727-4829
(4TAX), and request a change in filing frequency. If your
tax liability is $10,000 per period, you may file electroni-
cally. Visit www.taxpayerservicecenter.com for additional
details.

E. Imposition of Sales Tax: A person doing business in
the District must collect District sales tax from the pur-
chaser on:

1. Sales of tangible personal property delivered to a

customer in the District;

2. Certain services;

3. Renting or leasing tangible personal property used

in the District;

4. Charges for rooms, lodging or accommodations
located in the District that are furnished to tran-
sients;

Admissions to certain public events in the District;

6. Charges for parking, storing or keeping motor vehi-
cles or trailers in the District; and

7. Sales of certain tobacco products.

b

F. Calculation of Sales Tax: Sales tax is calculated by
multiplying the sales price of a taxable item by the appli-
cable tax rate and rounding off to the nearest cent.

You can obtain tax tables of the different District sales tax
rates from the OTR Customer Service Center, 2nd floor,
1101 4th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20024 or by calling
202-442-6546.

The tax is based on the sales price. Sales price is the total
amount paid by a purchaser to a vendor for a taxable item
without deducting the cost of the item sold. Sales price
does not include: (1) cash discounts allowed and taken on
sales; (2) separately stated installation charges; and (3)
sales tax collected by the vendor from the purchaser.

G. Sales Tax Rates Applicable to Taxable Sales:
* A 2% rate applies to sales of prepaid wireless com-
munication services.



— Recent enacted legislation authorizes sellers to col-
lect from consumers a charge of 2% of the sales price
of prepaid wireless telecommunication services. This
charge will be in addition to the 10% sales tax already
being charged on telecommunication retail transac-
tions and must be separately stated on the invoice,
receipt or other similar document given to the con-
sumer.

The additional 2% charge will apply as of October 1,
2010. Under the new law, the 2% charge will be for
prepaid wireless services that allow a caller to dial
911. This is the equivalent of the 911 fee charged to
non prepaid cell phone users by the wireless service
providers. The charge will apply to wireless telecom-
munication services whether they are provided on a
card, via remote sales such as internet or telephone
purchases, or by other means, such as an authorization
code on a receipt.

Exemptions

The charge will not apply to:

*  The purchase of wireless telecommunication services
which are made for purposes of being resold; and

¢ An amount of service of 10 minutes or less, or valued
at $5 or less when the service is sold with a prepaid
wireless device for a single, non-itemized price.

Procedures for Remitting Collected Funds

The prepaid wireless 911 charge is the liability of the
consumer but the seller is liable for remitting the prepaid
wireless 911 charges collected to the OTR. The seller
is entitled to retain 3% of the total prepaid wireless 911
charges collected. The Form 800 series, sales tax return, is
the vehicle for submitting the collected fees.

While the additional 2% charge will apply as of October 1,
2010, sales tax returns are not being modified to accom-
modate the 911 charge until returns due on or after January
20, 2011. The first due date for submitting the collected
fees will be:

e For annual filers, January 20, 2011 — This will include
the sales tax collected for the year and the 911 charges
collected between October 1, 2010 and December 31,
2010;

*  For quarterly filers, April 20, 2011 — This will include
the sales tax collected for the quarter ending March 31,
2011 and the 911 charges collected between October
1, 2010 and March 31, 2011.

e For monthly filers, February 20, 2011 — This will
include the sales tax collected for the month end-
ing January 31, 2011 and the 911 charges collected
between October 1, 2010 and January 31, 2011.

Subsequent sales tax returns will include the fees collected

for the specific return period — month, quarter or year.

* A 6% rate applies to sales of certain tangible per-

sonal property and selected services delivered in DC
such as:
Rentals or leases of tangible personal property, except
rentals of textiles to residential users;
Sales of non-alcoholic soft drinks; “Soft drink” means
a non-alcoholic beverage with natural or artificial
sweeteners. The term “soft drink” shall not include a
beverage that:
(1) Contains:

(a) milk or milk products

(b) soy, rice, or similar milk substitutes

(c) fruit or vegetable juice, unless the beverage is

carbonated; or

(2) is prepared for immediate consumption, as defined

in subsection (g-1) of Section 47-2001;
Sales of newspapers and publications;
Sales of food or drinks sold through vending
machines;
Sales of certain services: real property maintenance,
landscaping, employment, personnel placement, data
processing, information, production, fabrication or
printing, repairs or alterations of tangible personal
property, copying, photocopying, duplicating, or mail-
ing, delivery and laundering, dry cleaning, or press-
ing, unless the service is performed by coin-operated
equipment;
Sales of stationary two-way radio services, telegraph
services, teletypewriter services, teleconferencing
services, “900,” “976,” “915,” and other “900” type
telecommunication services, telephone answering
services, and coin-operated telephone services. These
services are exempt from sales tax if charges to the
end-user are subject to the DC gross receipts tax or
the toll telecommunication tax;
Admissions to certain public events;
Sales of local telephone service, gas, oil and electric-
ity for commercial use; and
Sales of solid fuel or steam.
Gross receipts from sales contracts on the date the
sale is made, regardless of the time of payment or
delivery. If the sale is made on or after October 1,
2009, it is taxed at 6%. If the sale is made by a vendor
located outside DC, the tax on the purchase — the use
tax — whether collected by the vendor or remitted by
the purchaser is due at the 6% rate if possession is
taken in the District on or after October 1, 2009.
If tax due on rental or lease payments for rentals or
leases of tangible personal property applies to each
rental or lease period, regardless of the length of the
lease or the date the lease agreement was signed.
Payments for lease periods beginning on or after
October 1, 2009, for leases of other than motor vehi-
cles, are subject to the 6% rate.



A 9% rate applies to sales of alcoholic beverages
sold for consumption off the premises.

A 10% rate applies to:

All sales of food and drink served or prepared for
immediate consumption or sold in or by restaurants,
lunch counters, cafeterias, hotels, caterers, boarding
houses, carry-out shops and similar places of busi-
ness. This includes food or drink in a heated state,
cold drinks dispensed on a self-service basis into a
container; and frozen yogurt, ice cream, ice milk or
sherbet sold in quantities of less than one pint;
Rentals of motor vehicles and utility trailers, except
those registered for commercial purposes;

Sales of alcoholic beverages sold for consumption on
the premises; and

Sales of prepaid telephone calling cards.

A 12% rate applies to:

Parking, storing or keeping motor vehicles or trail-
ers;

Tobacco products, other than cigarettes or premium
cigars or pipe tobacco. This includes any product made
primarily from tobacco that is intended for consump-
tion by smoking, by chewing or as snuff. NOTE: A
premium cigar means an individual cigar with a retail
cost of $2 or more or a packaged unit of cigars with
an average cost of $2 or more per cigar.

A 14.5% rate applies to charges for rooms, lodgings,
or accommodations furnished to transients.

. Exempt and Nontaxable Sales include the following:

1. Sales to the United States, the District, or any instru-
mentality thereof, except sales to national banks and
Federal savings and loan associations.

2. Sales to a state, territory or possession of the United
States or their political subdivisions, if they grant a
similar exemption to the District.

3. Sales to foreign embassies and diplomats, provided the
purchaser presents the seller with an exemption card
issued by the U.S. State Department.

4. Sales to organizations exempted from the payment of
sales tax by federal statute or treaty.

5. Sales of natural or artificial gas, oil, electricity, solid
fuel or steam, used directly in processing or refining,
manufacturing or assembling, if the purchaser pre-
sents the seller with a specific exemption certificate.

6. Sales of property which the purchaser acquires for
resale in the same form as when acquired, or to be
incorporated as a material part of a product to be pro-
duced by processing or refining, manufacturing or
assembling, if the purchaser presents the seller with a
District of Columbia Certificate of Resale.

7. Certain sales to a public utility or telecommunications
company.

8. Sales of insurance, professional or personal service
transactions which involve sales of tangible personal
property as inconsequential elements for which no
separate charges are made.

9. Sales of transportation and communication services
other than data processing services, information
services, commercial local telephone services and
selected telecommunication services.

10. Sales of motor vehicles and trailers subject to the
District’s Motor Vehicle Excise Tax.

11. Sales of motor vehicle fuels subject to the District’s
Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax.

12. Sales of medicines, drugs and pharmaceuticals.

13. Sales of food or beverages on a train, airline or other
form of transportation operating in interstate com-
merce.

14. Casual and isolated sales, except that sales by
churches, religious, scientific, educational, social, fra-
ternal, benevolent and other organizations and insti-
tutions of the same nature are not considered to be
casual and isolated sales.

15. Sales to a semipublic institution, if the semipublic insti-
tution presents the seller with a District of Columbia
Certificate of Exemption (Form FR-551).

16. Charges for printing a newspaper that is distrib-
uted free of charge in the District, if the purchas-
er presents the seller with a District of Columbia
Free Newspaper Certificate of Exemption (Form
FR-554).

17. Sales of food or drink, (including snack food) but
not including food or drink prepared for immediate
consumption, or food or drink sold through vending
machines.

18. Charges for postage, provided the charges are stated
separately.

19. Sales which, under the U.S. Constitution, may not be
taxed by a State.

20. Sales of residential public utility services and com-
modities by a gas, electric, or telephone company and
sales of residential heating oil by any person.

21. Sales of residential cable television services and com-
modities by a cable television company.

22. Access to the Internet.

I. Payment in Lieu of Sales Tax by Street Vendors.

Every street vendor must make payments in lieu of collect-
ing and remitting sales tax. Street vendors must file a vendor
payment coupon with the District. They should not file a sales
and use tax return for their sales; however, they should file the
FR-800Q to remit the Disposable Bag Fee. Payment coupons
are made available to street vendors after they file Form
FR-500.



PART II - Use Tax

A. Imposition of the Tax: A use tax is imposed on the
use, storage, or consumption of taxable tangible personal
property and services in the District, unless the purchas-
er has paid a sales tax on the purchase of the taxable
tangible personal property or service to the District, or
another tax jurisdiction in the U.S. or to a U.S. territory.

B. Calculation of the Tax: Multiply the purchase price
of the taxable tangible personal property or taxable ser-
vice by the applicable use tax rate and round off to the
nearest cent.

C. Purchases Subject to Use Tax: For purchases sub-
ject to sales tax on which a sales tax has not been paid
to the District or or another tax jurisdiction in the U.S.
or to a U.S. territory — see the rates in Part I, Section G
on page one.

D. Use Tax Rates: The use tax rates are the same as the
sales tax rates — see Part I, Section G on page one.

E. Exemptions: The use tax exemptions are the same as
the sales tax exemptions — see Part I, Section H on page
three. Also exempt are purchases on which a sales tax
has been paid to the District, or or another tax jurisdic-
tion in the U.S. or to a U.S. territory.

F. Returns and Payments: Businesses should file a
Form FR-800A (annual return), Form FR-800Q (quar-
terly) or FR-800M (monthly return) to report and pay
sales and use tax on purchases and rentals.

Send all Use tax payments to the Office of Tax and

Revenue, Sales and Use Tax, PO Box 96384, Washington,
DC, 20090-6384.

Doing business in the District includes the selling,
delivering or furnishing in the District, or any activity
performed in the District in connection with the selling,
delivering or furnishing of tangible personal property or
services sold at retail. This term includes but is not lim-
ited to the following acts or methods of transacting busi-
ness.

(1) Maintaining, occupying or using, permanently or
temporarily, directly or indirectly, or through a
subsidiary or agent, by whatever name called, of
any office, place of distribution, sales or sample
room or place, warehouse or storage place, or
other place of business; and

(2) Having any representative, agent, salesman, can-
vasser, or solicitor operating in the District for the
purpose of making sales at retail or the taking of
orders for such sales

The information furnished in this pamphlet is not
all-encompassing. For specific information regard-
ing District sales and use taxes, please refer to sec-
tions 47-2001 et seq. and 47-2201 et seq. of the District
of Columbia Code and to Chapter 4 of Title 9 of the
District of Columbia Municipal Regulations. You may
also contact the Office of Tax and Revenue’s Review
& Conference Section by mail at: Office of Tax and
Revenue, PO Box 556, Washington, DC 20044-0556,
or by calling (202) 727-4829.

PART III - Sales and Use Tax Rate Tables

Tax tables for the various sales and use tax rates may be obtained from the Office of Tax and Revenue, Customer Service
Center, 1101 4th Street, SW, 2nd floor, Washington, DC 20024 or by calling 202-442-6546.



